Compliment yourself, you deserve it!

Do you remember what it was like to be a kid? No deadlines to meet, no night shifts, no responsibilities… Ah! What a life! The thing that mattered most was getting appreciated for simple accomplishments. Be it having a neat handwriting, drawing something beautiful, getting 10/10 in dictation, being the fastest runner in school and the list goes on. Whenever teachers praised us for any little thing it was a feeling of being on top of the world.

I volunteer to teach at a nearby government school and that one hour with the kids always takes me back to my childhood days. Last week, after a session, one of the kids walked up to me and asked me to ‘correct’ his notes. I casually put a right mark but he continued to stand in front of me with the book open. When I asked what he wanted he looked at me and said, “Didi, good dona please…” I laughed and scribbled a ‘Good’ for his satisfaction. As he walked back to his seat he had a smile of accomplishment on his face.

That night as I was returning home in the cab I thought to myself, so what was my accomplishment in school? And the first thing that popped into my mind was the first poem I ever wrote. It was titled ‘My Doll’. I was 9 years old and I remember I was in school when I wrote it (some free hour I guess). It went something like this:

I have a doll, which is very tall.

Her name is Lilly, her dress is frilly.

She sings a song, which is very long.

I like the song, which I sing along.

That was it. I’m surprised I still remember it word to word! These four lines were enough to give me a feeling of great achievement. Little did I know back then that it had sparked a new hobby in me.

Now I know that we all are in a place where the definition of achievement is at a new level. Although I think it is necessary for us to learn to recognise our daily accomplishments too. To start off, if you’re reading this, then spare a minute to think and ask yourself this question, ‘When you were in school, what was the one thing that gave you a sense of accomplishment?’ Write the first thing that comes to your mind in the comments below. I think we all deserve a break from our daily routine and take some time to reminisce our accomplishments that brought us where we are today. And from now on make a habit of patting yourself on the back whenever you feel that you deserve it.

4 thoughts on “Compliment yourself, you deserve it!”

  1. Singing ( imagine me singing ) a patriotic song in my 5th STD. And wonder of wonders winning a first prize for my effort.
    ( That was perhaps the last time I sang)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sindhuja, a lovely rhyme. My Sanskrit teacher in Bangalore selected me and asked me to memorize 10 verses of the Bhagavad Gita and recite it on the school stage during the annual day celebrations. I was in class VIII or IX. Somehow I memorized the 10 verses and legs trembling, went on stage, and recited the 10 verses without making a single mistake. My school mates also were my competition. I was given the third prize. Shobha Rao got the 1st prize. My confidence in my ability increased.

    Like

Leave a Reply

